Rosary Natural Stone Crucifix Necklace Catholic 5 Decade Turquoise Prayer Beads Virgin Mary Pendant Orthodox Catholic Cross Round Beaded


Natural Stone Five Decade Rosary beads and Crucifix. The necklace is a full 30" long. The Necklace total hanging length is 22". This is a Classic style Turquoise color. Natural Stone Jewelry with Flowered and Round bead designs. An eye catching design for sure!

This very Fashionable Natural Stone design. The 30" necklace loop is a generous length large enough to slide over your head!

A Saint Michaels Jewelry exclusive.

5, 6, and 7 decade rosaries (contributions by Bishop Thomas Daly)

The rosary, historically has been one of the most loved practices in Catholic devotion taking different forms throughout the centuries. The rosary allowed many of the faithful in Western Europe who could not pray the 150 Psalms contained in the Liturgy of the Hours, the community prayer of priests and nuns to align their prayer with the daily prayer of the Church. In different spiritual traditions within the Catholic Church, variations of the rosary developed. Some rosaries differed in the number of decades:

The most common rosary is known as the Dominican Rosary that consists of three sets of five mysteries, with each mystery containing a decade (or set of 10) of Hail Mary prayers, totaling 150.

The Five Joyful Mysteries:
The Annunciation
1. The Visitation
2. The Birth of Christ
3. The Presentation
4. The Finding of Christ Jesus in the Temple
5. The Five Mysteries of Light

The Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan
1. The Wedding Feast of Cana
2. Jesus Proclaims the Kingdom of God
3. The Transfiguration
4. The Institution of the Eucharist
5. The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

The Agony in the Garden
1. The Scourging at the Pillar
2. The Crowning with Thorns
3. The Carrying of the Cross
4. The Crucifixion
5. The Five Glorious Mysteries

The Resurrection
1. The Ascension
2. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
3. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
4. The Crowning of Mary as Queen of Heaven
5. Concluding Prayers

Hail, Holy Queen, Mother of Mercy! Hail our life, our sweetness, and our hope! To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sights, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears. Turn, then, most gracious Advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us; and after this our exile show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus; O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary.

Saint Teresa of Jesus, aka St Teresa of Avila, prayed the Rosary each day, and whilst traveling throughout Spain stayed in at least one Brigittine Monastery. From these nuns, she learned the six-decade Rosary, which was later adopted as the Rosary to be worn as part of the Discalced Carmelite habit, with a large medal of Our Lady of Mount Carmel in addition to, (or even in place of,) the Crucifix found on the Dominican Rosary.

According to pious tradition, the Blessed Virgin Mary gave the rosary to St. Dominic. In 2002, St. John Paul II advocated adding a fourth set of mysteries to the Rosary, known as the luminous mysteries, to further contemplate the life of Jesus. Careful observers will note that our Blessed Mother is seen holding a rosary in images of her apparition at Lourdes. Her rosary is usually depicted with six decades. At different times, a sixth decade has focused on an additional mystery or on praying for a particular intention. Bishop Thomas Daly in Spokane encourages the faithful to pray a sixth decade of the rosary for vocations to the diocesan priesthood and religious life.

With the Carmelites, only six of the eighteen decades are worn, as opposed to the entire fifteen decades of the Dominican Rosary, worn with the Religious habits of some other Orders.

The Brigittine Rosary consists of six decades. Seven Pater Noster beads honour the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and sixty-three Ave Maria beads commemorate the sixty-three years it is believed she lived on earth before her Assumption. When the whole devotion is offered there are a total of eighteen decades.

Six Joyful Mysteries:
1. The Immaculate Conception
2. The Annunciation of Gabriel to Mary
3. The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
4. The Birth of Jesus
5. The Presentation of Jesus In The Temple
6. The Finding of Jesus In The Temple

Six Sorrowful Mysteries:
1. The Agony of Jesus In The Garden
2. Jesus Is Scourged At The Pillar
3. Jesus Is Crowned With Thorns
4. Jesus Carries His Cross
5. The Crucifixion
6. The Body of the Lord was placed in the Arms of His Sorrowful Mother

Six Glorious Mysteries:
1. The Resurrection of Jesus
2. The Ascension of Jesus
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost
4. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
5. The Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth
6. The Patronage of Mary, Mediatrix of All Grace (Brigittine Rosary)
7. The Patronage of Mary, Queen and Beauty of Carmel (Carmelite Rosary)

Some rosaries focused on different mysteries or had differing numbers of prayers within each decade. The Franciscan Crown (or Seraphic Rosary) is a rosary consisting of seven decades in commemoration of the Seven Joys of the Virgin, namely, the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Nativity of Jesus, the Adoration of the Magi, the Finding in the Temple, the Resurrection of Jesus, and finally, either or both the Assumption of Mary and the Coronation of the Virgin.

The usual manner of reciting the Franciscan Rosary is as follows:
The Apostles' Creed,
the Our Father,
three Hail Marys,
the mystery to be meditated upon is introduced/announced for each of the next seven decades,
At the end of the seventh decade, two Hail Marys are added to add up to the number of years that the Blessed Virgin is said to have lived on earth.

Seven Joys of Our Lady, recalls the seven joyous events of Mary’s life:
The Annunciation (Luke 1:26-38)
The Visitation (Luke 1:39–56)
The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ (Matthew 1)
The Adoration of the Magi (Matthew 2:11)
The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Luke 2:41-52)
The Appearance of Christ to Mary after the Resurrection (John 20, 21)
The Assumption and Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven (Revelation 12:1)
During Lent, those who pray with the Franciscan Rosary concentrate on seven sorrowful events in Mary’s life commonly known as the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary:

The prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34, 35)
The flight to Egypt (Matthew 2:13, 14)
The loss of the Child Jesus for three days (Luke 2: 43-45)
Mary meets Jesus carrying the cross. (Luke 2:34-35,51)
The Crucifixion of Jesus (Matthew 27:32-56)
The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross and placed in the arms of Mary. (John 19:38-42)
The body of Jesus is placed in the tomb (Luke 23:50-54)
These seven sorrowful mysteries can also be prayed on Fridays.


Returns & Exchanges

I gladly accept returns and exchanges

Just contact me within: 7 days of delivery

Ship items back to me within: 14 days of delivery

I don't accept cancellations

But please contact me if you have any problems with your order.

The following items can't be returned or exchanged

Because of the nature of these items, unless they arrive damaged or defective, I can't accept returns for:

  • Custom or personalized orders
  • Perishable products (like food or flowers)
  • Digital downloads
  • Intimate items (for health/hygiene reasons)
  • Items on sale

Legal imprint